Uncategorized

6th grade

6th grade, my parents divorced. I did NOT like my teachers. I discovered a great hatred of math. And having boobs and a period had long-lost it’s specialness. Yes, 6th grade sucked balls. How sad it is that it’s the only grade I really can’t remember anything specific about.

Except for, perhaps, the music! Great songs came out that year. I Wanna Sex You Up by Color Me Badd. Cream by Prince. O.P.P. by Naughty by Nature. All really great songs…except for when 12 year olds are singing them! How did my parents not have a heart attack when they heard me singing, “Boom boom boom, let’s go back to my room, so we can do it all night, and you can make me feel right. Oooooh!”

But that’s what we did, my friends and I. We’d walk around the school yard singing.  Swings were for kids. 4-square was lame.  We’d head out to the field or hang out by the basketball courts singing about liking big butts.

Seriously, what the hell were my parents thinking? And what the hell am I gonna do when my son starts singing stuff like that.

Crap.

Leave a Reply

