cooking · Humor · Motherhood · recipe

Turning Rachel G into Rachel Ray

On a whim, I decided to make a dinner from my Rachel Ray 30-Minute Meals cookbook. I had never actually made anything from this cook book despite having it for years, but  I am a Rachel Ray fan and was sure whatever I chose would be great!   The recipe was for Stuffed Pork Chops with Cream Cheese Potatoes and Sugar Snap Peas. Here’s the ingredients:

For Potatoes:
2 & 1/2 pounds potatoes, such as Russets or Idaho, peeled and cut into chunks
1/2 cup milk
4 ounces cream cheese
1 small onion, finely chopped
salt, to taste
2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives (Optional)

Here’s what I needed:
potatoes

For Stuffed Pork Chops:
1 tablespoon olive or vegetable oil, plus some for drizzling
2 slices bacon, chopped
1 small McIntosh apple, chopped
2 ribs celery from the heart, finely chopped
1 small onion, chopped
2 tablespoons fresh sage, chopped, or 1 teaspoon ground sage
2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped, or 1 tablespoon dried leaves
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 store-bought corn muffins
8 thin-cut boneless center-cut pork loin chops

What I needed?
2 Store-bought corn muffins

For Sugar Snap Peas:
2 Pounds sugar snap peas
1 cup chicken broth or water
1 tablespoon butter
Salt, to taste

What I needed?
Nothing! Whoo hoo! At least the peas would be a success!

So since I didn’t wanna run to the grocery store (I have a 5-year old and a 1-year old. There is no such thing as ‘running’ to the store anymore.), I had to nix the potatoes. But on a good note, the pork chops were still a go after I discovered a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix deep in my kitchen cabinet. Add egg and milk and voila! Corn Muffin! I figured my little trick would not only save time (not running to the store) and money (Jiffy Corn Muffin mix costs what? $.69), but will probably make the recipe taste a lOT better. Let’s face it, Jiffy Corn Muffins are THE BEST!

After the muffins were made, I set them aside while I prepared the stuffing. The stuffing was fairly simple though I worried about mixing apples and onions. It just didn’t sound like a great combination. But I have to say, once it started cooking, the smell was WONDERFUL!  Really, I hate to use this description, but it was mouth-watering! And pretty, too! The picture I took really doesn’t do it any justice at all. The bright red of the apples and green of the celery mixed with the warm yellows of corn muffin make this a perfect stuffing to enjoy in Autumn. Not that you can only enjoy it Autumn. I’m enjoying it in the Spring!

When it was time to start on the pork chops I realized I didn’t have thin-cut pork chops. They were kinda thick. I still wanted to do the stuffed pork chop so I attempted to slice one in half. I don’t recommend this. It was awkward and I nearly sliced my finger off. I suppose I could have beat it flat, but I really wasn’t in the beating mood. I left them as they were and grilled them on my George Foreman Grill.

Time for a commercial break…I cannot say enough how much I LOVE my George Foreman Grill! Honestly, the happiest days of my life were my wedding, the birth of my son, and the first time I cooked bacon on George. (The saddest day of my life is when I dropped George and one of the grill plates broke. Luckily, it still works! George is awesome!)  Every single thing I have ever grilled on George is perfect! I mean it! And I use it constantly. The one I have has the removable grill plates so clean-up is unbelievably easy. If you want to get somebody a great gift, give them the gift of George Foreman. (I swear they’re not paying me. I just love this thing!)

With the pork chops grilled, I covered them with the stuffing. Next came the snap peas which were totally easy. They came out crunchy and buttery and savory!

Despite a few hiccups this meal really was easy, and including the time it took to bake the corn bread, really did take  about 30 minutes. The meal as a whole was tasty, filling, and looked like a lot more work than what it actually was. I’m not the best chef in the world, but my husband thought I was that night! I’m thinking I’ll be using my Rachel Ray 30-Minute Meals cookbook a lot more often now. Mmmm…Chicken Piccata Pasta Toss looks good…

5 thoughts on “Turning Rachel G into Rachel Ray

    1. I actually made this a while ago…back in March…and since then I have made the stuffing with Turkey. THAT was really good. I’m sure it would be great with chicken too. If you try it out, let me know how it goes. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  1. I absolutely love George!!!! We have 3 of them. Hehe. And i like to put all 3 to use thats for sure. That recipe looked really good, just don’t think the family would eat the snap peas. Think i’m gonna have to get ahold of rachel ray cookbook.

    1. Yes, you should! Some of the recipes, I won’t lie, have ingredients I’ve never heard of before or are really expensive, but a lot are basic and delicious. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

