Humor · Motherhood · parenting · SAHM

Detective Mommy and the Mystery of the Missing Spoons, part 1

Why do we never have any clean spoons??? I yell this, I bet, about 4 or 5 times a week. It just doesn’t make any sense. I use them, I wash them, I put them away, and the next day they’re gone! Yeah, there will be some in the sink or left over in the dishwasher,but not ALL of them. Someone must be swiping my spoons, but who?

It made no sense that it would be an inside job. I mean, the family can have spoons whenever they like, right. So it MUST have been someone outside the family. A distant relative maybe? A close friend? A close friend’s child? I began a pretty decent list of suspects . My girl, Hoying, was  at the top of the list because she always compliments my style of spoon every time she sees them.  But would she go so far as to steal them one by one? If you know Hoying, you know it IS possible. But before I could throw on my intimidating Sherlock Holmes hat and spit shine my magnifying glass, I got a clue that threw my theory for a loop.

While putting clothes away in my son’s bedroom, something shiny caught my eye.  I prayed it would be a razor or a knife, but no. There it was. One of my nice spoons. The good kind, too. Not one of the ones that are real big and hard to fit in my mouth. I couldn’t believe it. I was stunned. Forgetting all my professional super sleuth training, I grabbed the evidence and stuffed it down my shirt. My big ol’ pregnant belly held it in place while I nonchalantly left my son’s room and tossed the evidence in the sink.

Why did I do it? Was I just being a mother, protecting her son? Or did I  know that I’d be starting the dishwasher within the hour and should probably get it in there? I don’t know. What I do know is I wish I had taken a picture of the evidence where it lied at that time. It could have saved me so much time…so much hurt.

I didn’t question my son. Not yet, anyways. I needed more evidence. So I decided to start carrying my camera around with me all through the house. I wouldn’t make the same mistake twice.

And It didn’t take long for me to almost step into the next clue…

Leave a Reply

