cooking · kids · Motherhood · parenting · SAHM

Salmon Eating in the Ohio

My new obsession is Salmon. That delicious soft fishy-fish, that’s actually hard to describe when you’re trying to describe the taste. In effort to be more descriptive, I actually Googled description of Salmon. I still don’t know the best way to tell how it tastes, but I did find out its Latin name means “The Leaper”. Well, it can leap straight into my belly cause it is goo-ood!

My obsession has moved from the food to the movies.  I stopped to watch Salmon Fishing in the Yemen. Despite it’s unfortunate name, it was a FANTASTIC movie! Yes, it’s got some fishing in it, but it’s nothing like those boring fishing shows that are played over and over on  Sunday afternoons. There’s heart…and mystery…and warmth…and delicious Salmon! Imagine watching a boring fishing show on t.v., but then suddenly the fisherman opens up about finding love and passion. It’s kinda like that.

Alright so before you leave me because this post is stupid and you don’t care about Salmon and you’re not interested in watching anything about Salmon or fishing or Yemen, let me give you a recipe so you, just maybe, can get on the Salmon-infatuation band-wagon!

It probably goes without saying that I’ve been serving Salmon  a lot lately…to my children’s regret. They hate fish. Unless it’s the Cod I cover in Panko and call fish sticks. They drown it in tartar sauce, and request it  several times a week. So, I was so happy that they actually enjoy this recipe. And if it can please them, then it can please you, I’m sure. And if you don’t like it and you never eat Salmon again…well…what can I say? We can’t all be perfect! Just give it a try!

Here we go!

*oh, let me just mention…this is not my recipe. I got it out of the Taste of Home Healthy Cooking magazine.*

Salmon Bean Wraps

Prep: 20 min. + chilling, Yield: 2 Servings

1/4 C cubed avocado

3/4 C canned black beans, rinsed and drained

1/4 C finely chopped tomato

3 Tbsp. minced fresh cilantro

3 Tbsp. fat-free sour cream

2 Tbsp. finely chopped red onion

1-1/2 tsp. lemon juice

1/4 tsp. pepper

2 whole wheat tortillas (8 in.), warmed

2 oz. flaked smoked Salmon fillets

1 C shredded lettuce

1) In a large bowl, mash avocado. Stir in the beans, tomato, cilantro, sour cream, red onion, lemon juice and pepper. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

2) Spread 3/4 cup over each tortilla. Top with Salmon and lettuce; roll up and secure with toothpicks.

May 2013 317

I actually made mine with 6-inch tortillas, left off the lettuce (because I didn’t have any) and served it on the kid’s special bear plates with carrot sticks and mixed fruit. I think that helped.

So try it! Have your kids try it! Make your husband try it! I hope you love it.  🙂

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Salmon Eating in the Ohio

  1. So you know you’re not the only one, I like Salmon too. I don’t know about watching a movie about them, but they are interesting to learn about. Even better to eat 😉

Leave a Reply

