blogging · writing 101

My Favorite Night

Writing 101: A Room with a View: For this assignment, “choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the backstory. How does this specific location affect you? Is it somewhere you’ve been, luring you with the power of nostalgia, or a place you’re aching to explore for the first time?”

I can still taste the margarita on my lips when I think back to that romantic night. I remember the wavy way the world began to bend and how he held me steady as we left the loud music and bright lights behind. Our path was lit by the crescent moon and shadowed by thick threads of grass that stood as tall as me. In the daylight, we had seen the exotic flowers, but could only smell them now. Shadows of creatures cooling themselves on the stone slithered away as we clumsily approached. We understood how they felt. During the day it was so hot and the air was thick. Only now did it feel like our bodies could breathe. Only now could we get tangled in each others embrace without a care. We were free and alone and in love. As we approached the beach, I took my shoes off and felt the sand that had been carried by others earlier in the day. We kissed, and I could taste beer on his mouth. I never liked beer, but I found the malted flavor so enticing. It made me want him more than ever.  I could smell the water as we approached and see the distant lights of the hotel. It was too soon to go back to reality. Too soon for fluorescent lights and cranky dads checking in with their exhausted families.  Too soon for Barry Manilow playing in the elevator and the difficulties of electronic hotel room keys. We stopped and looked ahead, both silently dreading going back. So, without thinking, I grabbed his hand and ran us right back down the path with thick threads of grass that stood as tall as me.

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Night

Leave a Reply

