Humor · kids · Motherhood · parenting · SAHM

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…Yeah, Already.

scan0006

Here it is, nearly November and I’ve got Christmas on the mind. Please save me the the snarl of your nose and the shrillness of your gasp when you exclaim, “It’s not even Thanksgiving yet!” Yes, I know that. I know how a calendar works, too. Thanks.

Truth be told, I did not come to this mentality freely. I have been bamboozled! I hate this kind of crap as much as the next person. Especially since by the time Christmas actually gets here all I do is thank God it’s over.

Oh, and Happy Birthday, Jesus.

But it happens…it’s everywhere.

I don’t want to have to shop for Christmas presents in October. And so far I haven’t. But I have been asked for Christmas lists for my entire family by both my mothers. And that was back in September!

“If I’m going to have time to get it done this year, you better get me lists right away.”

Seriously?

So I sat the kids down and ordered them to tell me everything they’ve ever wanted in their whole entire lives that would make this Christmas the most amazingly perfect Christmas that there ever ever ever was. Tommy wants dominoes. Laurie wants ponies. Jack just laughed at me.

I gave these list to my mothers who said, “Really? That’s all they want?”

YES…that’s all they want…in SEPTEMBER! You can’t expect a good list when the kids are still talking about the County Fair.

Then there are other Mom-friends who are asking about it.

Have you started your shopping yet?

What charities are you getting involved in this holiday?

I’m not shopping on Thanksgiving!

Black Friday ads are out already, bitches!

I’m gonna stay home and Cyber-Monday it.

We should do a cookie exchange!

The radio got into the spirit with a few Christmas songs snuck into the classic rock. The bank got into it by sending me the money from my Christmas Account so early. But we all know where it all starts. The stores!

“Hey it’s Octocober 1st. Lets get these costumes to the back and bust out the twinkle lights.”

I didn’t think it would happen to me, but wouldn’t you know it, I was in the bedroom folding laundry, and blurted out, “It’s beginning to look a lot like Chris-.” Are you kidding!?!?!   I immediately broke into The Time Warp. It’s just a jump to the left, and then a step to the right, but it completely gets rid of those Ghost of Christmases 2 months away.

Later, just to keep that Halloweeny spirit up, the kids and I jumped in some leaves, drank some apple cider, and watched Hotel Transylvania right before bed. Man, I feel so much better.

I do still have Christmas on my mind. It’s kind of impossible to annihilate it completely. I do still plan on getting some shopping done soon. And I have begun searching for my Christmas c.d’s to play in the car…but not until Black Friday.

Autumn is my favorite time of year and I will not rush through it, not even for you, Home Alone marathon. I will honor Autumn in my heart, and try to keep it all the September, October, and November.

Errr… most of November. Deal?

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

