Humor

V is for Vicitous…or is It?

That's one smart ass.
That’s one smart ass.

12 years ago, when I had a grown-up job, my brilliant boss said to me, “Rachel, you’re vicitous.”

I replied back, “I have no idea what that means, but thanks!”

“It basically means you’re a smar- ass.”

I thought about this for a minute and said, “Thanks!”

I have used vicitous a lot these past 12 years. It makes me feel smart. So when I realized today was V, I knew I would have to use my super-grown-up-smart-word.

I began, “V is for Vici…Visi…”

I may have said the word a million times, but I had no idea how to spell it! So I popped it into the Google bar.

V-i-s-i-t-o-u-s

Did you mean vicious?

V-i-c-i-t-o-u-s

Did you mean vicious?

NO! Idiot! I know how to spell vicious!

So I tried spelling it more like how it sounds.

vi-see-shus

Did you mean facetious?

I yelled at Google again, “NO! I did not mean fascist!”

I started over, spelling v-i-s-i-t-o-u-s. When I got back to being asked if I meant facetious again, before I punched the computer, I glimpsed at the meaning of the word.

Joking or jesting, often inappropriately.

“Damn it, ” I mumbled, “I am fascist.”

I can’t believe I’ve been saying that word incorrectly all this time. I would blame my former-boss, but she is very intelligent so her mouth probably said it correctly and my ears messed it up.

So, I guess I don’t have a post for V today…unless you wanna call this one “V is for Victory. Victory for Google, you brilliant son of bitch!”

But, I’ll just stick with my title.

 

11 thoughts on “V is for Vicitous…or is It?

  1. hahaha wow! 😀
    I read the entire post just to find what that word meant.
    I must say i am impressed with the title. 😀

Leave a Reply

