children's books · Humor · parenting

Z is for Zax

My favorite FAVORITE FAVORITE book to read to my kids is the Dr. Seuss book, “The Sneetches and Other Stories”.

April 2015 002

Have you read it?
You Should!
Cause reading is so good!

All the stories, not surprisingly, are hilarious and fun to read and have a bit of a lesson to learn.

In “The Sneetches”, we discover that there is no better class, and that we’re all essentially equal.

In “What Was I Scared Of”, it teaches us that just because something is different, doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s bad.

And in “Too Many Daves” we learn if you’re gonna have 23 sons, maybe you shouldn’t name them all Dave. Though, naming one Marvin O’Gravel Balloon Face might be a bit much.

Finally we have “The Zax”.

There is a North Going Zax, who I assume has a Southern accent. And a South Going Zax, who I believe might be Russian. At least, that is how I read those parts to the kids. Their walking through the Prairie of Prax when they bump into each other. And instead of saying, “Oh, excuse me.” and going around, they exchange some snotty rude words and stand firm in their position, never budging, never compromising, and never moving forward again.

(I’m beginning to think the good doctor wrote this about Congress!)

In the end (Spoiler Alert!), though they both stand stubborn in their spots, the world does go on without them. The End.

The first time I read this to my oldest, I asked him what he thought. I assumed he’d say something about how they were both rude, or how they should have agreed to both step to the side so they could continue on their journeys. Maybe he’d comment about how the world keeps going and changing, even if you won’t.

But instead he says to me, quite seriously, “I can’t believe you can see their butts!”

“Yes, well,” I replied, “Their moms should have made them put on clean underwear before they left the house.”

Tommy agreed.

This might not have been the lesson Dr. Seuss was going for, but it’s the one we got. And it’s the one my son is sure to point out to his younger brother and sister all these years later.

So, what’s your favorite Dr. Seuss book? Or perhaps a different one from childhood? Any new ones you would suggest for my silly little readers?

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Z is for Zax

    1. You know, that’s actually one of my least favorite ones. That’s not a very popular thing to say, but it’s true. I do not like Green Eggs and Ham. I do not like to read it…damn.

  1. I do not enjoy cats in hats that tall
    That force their way in front
    They dance, they twirl
    But most of all
    They are an affront
    To views for my girl
    Oh I do not like them at all

    1. Another good one! And I don’t think I own it so I’ll have to check the bookstore for it next time I’m there. I do however own How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and this afternoon my daughter insisted I read it. Sadly, I sound nothing like Boris Karloff and it’s 70 degrees outside so it just felt wrong. The trip to the bookstore will be happening quite soon!

Leave a Reply

