blogging · Humor · Uncategorized

It’s Getting Hot In Here, So Turn On The New Air (I am getting so hot, I’m gonna turn the air on!)

So we finally did it, people. We decided on a company to resolve our heating and cooling issues. (If you’d like to get the full scoop on this fun little adventure, click here).

Did we pick the first guy, who was polite and professional?

Did we pick guy number 2 who was basically a walking number 2?

Or did we choose a 3rd mystery man who had everything we wanted and then some?

We went with….

Guy number 1!

May 2015 023

I’d like to thank all of you who voted, and to that person who voted for my husband…I know it was you, Dan Collins, and I know where you live!

Ahem…

Anyways, we did end up asking guy number 1 if he could maybe sharpen his pencil and give us a better deal, and he did! He also pointed out a few discrepancies in the other quote which explained why they were so low. In the end, #1 was still more than guy number 2, but  my husband is not an idiot and understands that you get what you pay for, especially when it comes to customer service.

On Monday morning, Cory and Jeff showed up right on time. They asked very few questions and got to work.

I know you're not suppose to air your dirty laundry, but what about displaying your dirty furnace?
I know you’re not suppose to air your dirty laundry, but what about displaying your dirty furnace?

Besides the attic, the guys worked mostly in the kitchen, the den, and the office, so I tried to keep the kids out of the way. We spent a lot of time outside, and when we were inside we were on the couch watching t.v. or reading books (Okay, mostly watching t.v., but I did read a few books. Honest!)

I’m not gonna lie, I didn’t realize how much time I spend in the kitchen cooking and cleaning and doing laundry (the laundry is right off the kitchen). And when I’m not doing that, I’m in here on the computer writing or reading other blogs or checking Facebook for the hundredth time. It wasn’t so bad staying out of those rooms on day 1, but by day 4, I was getting a little itchy. Here’s something I wrote while on the computer hiatus…

I’m going stir-crazy. I haven’t sat and written anything in days. Yes, I’m writing now, but I’m not enjoying it! In the actual real-time reality of now, I am sitting in the corner of my couch with a notebook on my lap. I’m guessing the notebook is at least 10 years old because I can barely see the blue lines to write on. Oh my Lanta! It’s older than that. My husband had this in 8th grade. The man gets rid of nothing, I tell you!

May 2015 013

Anyways, the reason I’m not enjoying writing is because I’m writing and not typing. My hand is so not used to this type of exercise anymore. It’s cramping. And writing is so darn slow. I’ve already written the next few paragraphs in my head, but my fingers aren’t catching up so by the time I get to that very important thing that I actually sat down to write, I will forget it because I’m old. And my fingers are useless with a pen and paper. “We want to type!” They cry. “C’mon, let us type!” they plead and I say, “Oh little darlings, I would love to but we can’t.” And so they get mad at me and start hurting. They’re assholes . My fingers are assholes.

Luckily by the end of Day 4, they had the air back on, and it purred like a kitten! On day 5, they finished up, cleaned up, did a fantastic job sweeping the floor, and were outta my house by 3.

My husband, who, if you don’t know, is a super perfectionist, actually complimented them on their work. They were really quite fantastic and I’m so happy we went with them. So  guess that answers the question I had asked before. Customer service is better than price.

And I’m always right! Thanks for stopping by!

  • As you can see from the picture, I scrambled up the name of the company because I don’t know what the rules are as far as blogging about this sort of thing. I’m sure they probably wouldn’t mind, especially since I had nothing but good things to say, but just in case, I won’t put their name on here. However, if you live close to me and want their name, message me on Facebook and I’ll hook you up, homie.
5 thoughts on “It’s Getting Hot In Here, So Turn On The New Air (I am getting so hot, I’m gonna turn the air on!)

  1. Cool post, Rachel. I’m happy to hear that No. 1 prevailed, after coming down some on his intitial bid. Enjoy your whole-house comfort! Now please appreciate typing away. When I go back to the reporting portion of writing stories and must take notes on pads with pen, first off, my print-only penmanship — I really wouldn’t be able to read any attempts a cursive — is beyond atrocious, and two, as my hand tires and I’m thinking “Aren’t you done talking yet, Windy?” I think to myself, how did we all do this in hour-long class segments all the time?

    1. Exactly! I can’t believe I used to write page after page after page (in cursive cause I have beautiful penmanship) for hours and hours and hours. Now I get arthritis from signing a check! Ugh!

      1. How about when you must sign with one of those fake pens after swiping a card on those little store checkout readers? I often think, hey, that’s not my name!

Leave a Reply

