Humor · parenting

Birthday Business

Tommy asked, “Can you please just tell me something about my present?”

I considered this and said, “Oh, why not. What do you want to know?”

He licked his lips and asked, “Is it big or small?”

“Depends on if you’re an elephant or an ant.”

This was not the answer he expected, and he realized I was not going to make this very easy on him.

“Fine. I’m an elephant.”

“Well then it’s small.”

“What color is it?”

“It has many colors.”

He rolled his eyes, clearly annoyed with my answer. “Does it have a remote control?”

“No.”

Alright! A straight answer! But then he was bummed because if it didn’t have a remote control, then it must not be the rc boat he asked for.

“I’ll let you ask one more.” I told him.

He thought hard for a moment and then, “Does it have legs?”

I thought hard for a moment and answered, “No. But it can take you places.”

With that, he let out an aggravated moan and grumbled away. But, I think it was all worth it in the end.

Tears of electronic joy
Tears of electronic joy

What a surprise to get his first Kindle Fire, especially after I told him over Christmas, “You kids do not need your own tablets.” And then I was declared meanest Mom in the world.

Mean? Not really. Cunning? Oooooh yeah!

Happy Birthday, Baby Boy!

 

6 thoughts on “Birthday Business

Leave a Reply

